BSO – Monumental Brahms

Brahms and Lyatoshinsky

Event Image

£16.00 - £40.00
Book tickets online

The Great Hall - University of Exeter

1st February 2018 at 19:30

Running time: 120

Kirill Karabits, Conductor

Sunwook Kim, Piano

Two weighty pieces make for an evening of deep symphonic emersion. Brahms’ First Piano Concerto is a spectacular tour the force for soloist as well as orchestra. The Ukrainian composer Lyatoshinsky is relatively unknown in the West, yet this symphony reminds of the film scores to swashbuckling 1950’s Hollywood dramas – full of emotion, the music sometimes gritty, sometimes poetic.


Piano Concerto No.1

Symphony No.3